Talk

Advanced search

Driving to Italy with children

(10 Posts)
CurlyLizzie Fri 17-Mar-17 14:38:48

Hello

I'm new to mums net but hope someone can help.

We're travelling to Italy with a two year old and six month old in a few months. Leaving Dover on the Chunnel on the Friday and aiming to be in Parma by the Monday.

Does anyone have any tips on travelling with children? And any good routes? Places to stop and have lunch / play and also any good hotels en route?

We're thinking of going down via Dijon, Strasbourg and then stopping in Switzerland. Then returning via Mont Blanc tunnel and Geneva / Annecy.

Thank you in advance!

childmaintenanceserviceinquiry Fri 17-Mar-17 14:53:41

check the swiss tunnels for closures. The detours if so are very very lengthy.
Strasbourg has a good number of hotels for stop overs eg ACCOR.
Dont under-estimate the amount of time with 2 such young children that you will be stopping off for rest breaks. Some of the rest stops no cafes are brutally stark. We preferred at one to change our 9 month old on the car park floor - it was cleaner.
you will need a pass to go through Switzerland on the motorway. Annual pass approx 20-40 swiss francs.

We only did the return drive once in our car. We then always flew, but had friends who routinely drove to North italy.

thunderpunt Fri 17-Mar-17 15:23:58

We do this annually to Tuscany, always stick to France, have the Libert-è tag which gets you through the fast lane at the tolls. We invariably stay in the Mercury hotel in Chamonix Les Bossons (have family rooms) and then through the Mont Blanc tunnel into Cormeyuer. Scenery is fantastic around the alps.
We take a picnic for the journey down and stop at the various Aires/service stations for food, leg stretches.
On the way back we normally make our stop around Dijon area
Have a great trip
(If your kids have iPads- BBC iPlayer downloads are your friend!)

thunderpunt Fri 17-Mar-17 15:26:13