Talk

Advanced search
Threads in this topic will auto-delete 30 days after the OP is posted. Threads posted here are visible to search engines and will appear in Active discussions until they are auto-deleted.

'Handsy' colleague

(23 Posts)
LondonBookworm Sat 10-Feb-18 21:12:19

I work in a shop. On of my male colleagues, whose name I don't know. Has taken to being 'handsy' when he sees me on the shop floor. He works on the admin side so is not around all the time. He has grabbed me around the waist and various other things. On my last shift he came up and hugged me and I had to pull away from him. This makes me really uncomfortable and I don't feel able to tell him where to go because of customers being around.

I don't know what to do. I don't know whether to report it to my manager or if I do whether my manager will just say "Why didn't you ask him to leave me alone?" I hide when I see him coming but that isn't always possible. What's really bizarre is I haven't even had a conversation with him, due to him working in the office and me on the shop floor. On a final note he's a big guy, at least 6ft 4, if not taller.

Please advise me what I should do. It's making me want to leave my job and, other than this, I really like it.

PurplePirate Sat 10-Feb-18 21:13:56

Tell him to fuck off if he touches you again?

PenguinsandPandas Sat 10-Feb-18 21:14:19

I would mention it to your manager, that's not on.

SmilingButClueless Sat 10-Feb-18 21:15:05

Talk to your manager. If nothing else, your manager should be able to reassure you that it’s fine to tell your colleague to leave you alone even if there are customers around (which it absolutely is).

ChasedByBees Sat 10-Feb-18 21:18:46

Absolutely talk to your manager.

Lucymek Sat 10-Feb-18 21:21:20

Write stuff down you can remember and email to your manager if not write a note and give it to her.

Optimist1 Sat 10-Feb-18 21:22:10