Talk

Advanced search

Stronglift 5x5

(11 Posts)
pinkhorse Sat 04-Aug-18 22:19:47

Does anyone do this? Does it work? I've been lifting for a while but never followed a specific program so am thinking about giving this a try.

Phill936 Sun 05-Aug-18 18:54:15

Hi, I have done stronglifts before in the past it's based on progressive overload and building a strong foundation for strength training. It is very good if your looking for a solid foundation to move some heavy weights. Downside is you will be incredibilli sore and it doesn't seem to let up. Hypothetically you can run it for ever but realistically a deload or rest week every 8 weeks is a good idea. It depends what your goals are.

MaggieAndHopey Tue 14-Aug-18 11:06:15

Stronglifts is the program I followed when I started lifting. It's a very good foundation and there's a lot of focus on correct form, which I think would be helpful even if you already lift.

I don't agree with Phill that you could follow it forever - one of the main features is you're supposed to add weight (5kg for deadlift, 2.5 kg for every other lift) every time you can do 5 sets of 5 for that lift - obviously there's a limit to how often you can do that! Plus if you're a woman, unless you're unusually strong in the upper body, you will find progress slower on the bench and particularly the overhead press than you will with the squats and deadlift.

You could look at Wendler's 5/3/1 as an alternative - again it's about progressive overload, but the way it's structured allows for more variety than in Stronglifts.

Phill936 Tue 14-Aug-18 14:16:02