Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

How often do you rest?

(4 Posts)
LadyMarmyLard Tue 28-Feb-17 15:18:17

I'm new to lifting weights, I'm following a beachbody program called Body Beast so that I can workout at home.
Anyway I've reached phase 2 now which is a lot higher in intensity and there is only 1 rest day a week. I'm fucked.
Is this enough time for my body to repair itself and build muscle??
One of the days is cardio and abs but this is definitely not a break! it still involves light dumbbells and things like jump squats etc
I'm concerned if I don't follow the program exactly I won't get results.

practicallyperfectinmyway Tue 28-Feb-17 23:09:45

I rest every other day, reasoning is that I'm 48, on the days I do exercise, it's an hour of 100% weights, cardio and circuits. I know what my body can and can't take & need the day in between to recover. Every day or even 5/6 days out of 7 would be a chore and I'd not enjoy it so much.

Listen to your body if you're feeling like you need the rest.

FindoGask Wed 01-Mar-17 18:49:31

It really depends on you, there are a lot of variables - your age, your physiology, the sort of exercise you're doing, what your goals are. Some people thrive on one rest day a week. Other people need more than that. I used to do 3 days on, 1 day off (so between 1 and 2 rest days a week) and that worked fine for years. I'd run one day, do kettlebells the next, do some sort of high intensity interval work or circuits the next. So I was alternating the sorts of demands I was placing on my body. Now I'm doing powerlifting training, which is weights only, I only train 3 to 4 days a week, so I have 3 to 4 rest days. That's pretty standard for powerlifting training I think - because it places a different sort of demand on your body.