Talk

Advanced search

Tell me to woman up!

(10 Posts)
Bodear Tue 13-Feb-18 16:55:23

I’ve just been reading a few of the tack room threads and you all seem lovely so....

I started riding again last year after a break of ooh about 25 years. I was always more enthusiastic than skilled. I had about 5 lessons and then in the last one before Christmas we played games (beanbags, buckets, flags, you know the type of stuff). I got thrown off twice; the first one didn’t hurt but the second one did, although nothing broken.
I had been really enjoying learning again but I think the incident make me feel quite insecure about being near others on a horse. If I don’t pick up lessons again I think I’ll regret it. Help me to get over it and back on a horse?

Fireinthegrate Tue 13-Feb-18 18:19:33

Was this at a riding school?
If so, go back and explain what happened and how you feel. Ask to book some private lessons on a safe steady horse to build up your confidence again.

Bodear Tue 13-Feb-18 19:39:55

Hi, thanks for replying. It was at a riding school and I think that’s the bit that makes me nervous tbh. In hindsight it was all a bit cramped and I feel a bit hmm that they let me get back on the same horse (known to hate being close to other horses) to continue in the games with no words of advice.
Am I being a snowflake?

Squirrel26 Tue 13-Feb-18 22:10:56

I'd be anxious about getting back on too. In fact, the whole thought of gymnkana games is making me a bit anxious right now. I see the kids where I ride crashing about on their ponies, and pulling them around, and all I can think is 'God, that has such potential for disaster' (and I used to be very much a crashing about go-faster-jump-higher child).

I agree with trying to have some private lessons with someone you trust if you can until you feel more comfortable, or if you can't do that could you ask to ride a horse who doesn't hate everyone, and in a less busy group for a bit?

Moanranger Tue 13-Feb-18 23:41:29