Talk

Advanced search

Am I being unrealistic re how fast to (re)learn to ride?

(25 Posts)
Cyclingandriding2016 Sat 28-Jan-17 17:25:35

I learnt to ride as a teenager. Had a few lessons at a typical riding school with plod along ponies, but then properly learnt at a private livery yard that did a few lessons - so I learnt on very good quality horses, not your typical riding school ponies.
I only ever did lessons, never had my own or competed. I was never amazing, but reached the point where I was starting to work on the bit, and remember cantering in an outline.

I then didn't ride for 20 odd years.

I started riding again a few years ago but just hacking on a very steady, old, ploddy pony. So not really 'riding' at all!

Last summer I decided I wanted to do 'proper' riding again as opposed to just plodding about bridle paths. I suppose my ambition is to eventually have my own horse and I realised I needed to brush up my skills.

I've been having lessons at a riding school since then. I've not been every week but I've probably had around 15 lessons (mostly private 1 hour lessons). I just don't feel that I'm improving. In my last lesson my instructor was saying my reins are different length, my hands are in the wrong place, my leg position is wrong, I'm leaning in, I'm rising too high in trot...etc etc ..basically I feel a bit useless and feel like I still have all the same faults I had on my first lesson last summer.

Am I expecting too much to have expected more progress by now? Maybe I'm just useless?!

The horses at the current riding school are actually pretty decent by riding school horse standards, but I still feel they are very different from the non-riding school horses I learnt on. But maybe that's just me making excuses.

There's a lady near me who does lessons on non-riding school horses, but I think she's aimed more at dressage riders than complete amateurs like me.

How much do you think you can progress on riding school horses?