Talk

Advanced search

To Have pony professionally reschooled.?

(14 Posts)
HebeJeeby Thu 22-Dec-16 18:12:51

Hello, I'm new to owning a pony so looking for advice. Bought my daughter a pony in July from a riding school, she is lovely and we are very happy with apart from her jumping. I was told that she was green at jumping when we bought her which I didn't think would be a problem. So far with the help of my daughter's experienced instructor we have now got her trotting nicely over a course of jumps about 30 or 40 cms high. However, any higher or if we try jumping in canter she rushes the jumps and bolts afterwards. This has been going on for a while and I wonder if I should send her away for a week or two to be properly trained. I have tried riding her but I am not experienced enough to solve this plus it frightened the life out of me!

I don't want my daughter to lose confidence, or worse, hurt herself, plus we have a pony that is struggling jumping. I've got the dentist booked to come and have considered getting an osteopath to check her out in case she's in pain jumping etc... However, can I ask what you think of my plan to send her away, I have found someone who will do this for me in the New Year. I don't think this is something we can sort out with a weekly lesson. I will speak to my daughter's instructor too but wanted to know other's thoughts on this and if anyone has done this with success. Pony is 11 years old.

Any advice much appreciated.

Cat0115 Thu 22-Dec-16 18:18:25

hi
if your instructor is experienced, then surely they can advise? I suggest canter work rather than jumping from a trot over a course of 40cms. Canter work in school and also out hacking. Canter work through wings, canter work over poles on the ground and then start work over small fences. Build up slowly. To buy something "green at jumping" in July means more work before this is sorted in December.