Talk

Advanced search

freelance groom hourly rate???

(10 Posts)
s098 Fri 07-Oct-16 21:55:30

I am starting a job tomorrow for a family helping out with their 2 horses and starting to bring them back into work. We've agreed times/ hours are flexible which is good for me as i have a 8.5 month old daughter but generally its going to be around 3/4 hours on a saturday.
I will take me about 20 minutes to get there.
They have said for me to tell them what i want paying per hour when i go. My mum thinks £10 and hour but i was thinking £8.
I have over 10 years experience working with horses and will get sort some insurance before i start riding them.
What do people think is fair pay wise as i don't want to sound greedy??

devilinmyshoes Fri 07-Oct-16 21:58:06

20 minutes walking or driving? You can't charge less than £10 an hour really, if you're driving there and back maybe £12.50?

devilinmyshoes Fri 07-Oct-16 22:03:39

Isn't minimum wage £9 an hour? You might want to take out some insurance (British grooms assoc offer some discounted policies I think) and £8 an hour isn't going to go far!

DoneRacing Fri 07-Oct-16 22:06:13

Where are you? For us, at least £15 per hour.

s098 Fri 07-Oct-16 23:02:28

Min wage is 7.20 an hour. Any full time jobs I've had in the past have been min wage which is probably why i feel bad asking for more.
I will be driving there and definitely getting some insurance sorted

bandito Sat 08-Oct-16 15:12:08

The person that rides my horse charges £20 for about 30-45mins schooling and she's not at all expensive (south coast of the UK). She'd charge the same per hour for groom's work too, with a deal to be done for coming with me to a show or whatever. Don't sell yourself short.

honeyroar Sat 08-Oct-16 17:23:24