Talk

Advanced search

I think we've reached the end of the road

(8 Posts)
frostyfingers Mon 02-Feb-15 09:19:17

I've had dhorse for 4 years now, he has had kissing spine surgery and I've been managing that and other ailments for all of the four years. He's primarily a hunter, that's what he and I both love, and the jumping that goes with it. Before Christmas he stopped jumping and I've had the physio a couple of times, he's been to the Vet Horspital and had steroid injections and we are now trialling bute to see if it will take away the pain that's causing him to stop. Nothing has changed and he still doesn't want to - he's sound enough to hack but not to hunt.

My issue is what to do next - I'm considering thermal imaging to see if we can pinpoint where the pain is but even then I'm wondering if this is just a "sticking plaster" cure - we can find and treat (hopefully) but what will go next? The vet has said that this is a common occurence with KS surgery - that bit is cured, but the issues move elsewhere - Sacro Iliac, pelvis, hocks.... I've used all my insurance, and more, and although want the best for him and just not in a position to carry on for ever with no end in sight.

The vet has said that he's not suitable for field retirement, he needs the muscle tone to support his back and mentally (TB) it would do his head in, he hates doing nothing. She has also said that the problems will only get worse..... I could try and find a loan home for him but his needs are very particular (has to be kept fit, can not be hauled out intermittently, can't work in a school as he's not bendy (!), can't jump, very definitely not for a novice) and I'm just not sure such a home exists. He's not even 13, he's a sweetheart and I love him to bits and am in such a quandary as to where to go next. My heart says carry on investigating, my head says take a step back and think logically.