Talk

Advanced search

Extremely vulnerable

(10 Posts)
Catwoman1985 Fri 30-Oct-20 23:03:32

Hi I was shielding previously as I was extremely clinically vulnerable. My school have been good about adjustments but school just doesn't feel safe. I am now in a catch 22 about what to do. I don't know how i can continue working in school with COVID. Any advice? Feeling pretty anxious now.

OP’s posts: |
SleepymummyZzz Sat 31-Oct-20 10:12:01

I’m so sorry OP I am in the same position. I just can’t see a way forward either 😔 Acutely aware today is the cut off for Christmas resignation and am doing lots of soul searching this morning. What do you think would help you feel safer? Is it possible in a school environment? Sending hugs xx

PinkPonyTail Sat 31-Oct-20 10:24:59

Sending some hugs!

I’m also a previously shielding teacher and back since August to a class full of 32 other people for 5.5 hours a day.

If the rest of the UK go into lockdown, I don’t know how I’ll feel about still working...

Catwoman1985 Sat 31-Oct-20 10:51:29

I am considering resigning too @SleepymummyZzz. It is an incredibly hard decision between not being able to afford the mortgage and our new baby, and risking contracting a virus that is very likely to kill me. I feel sick with worry and I feel for people like you and @PinkPonyTailin the same position

SquashedFlyBiscuits Sat 31-Oct-20 11:23:41

If you are sick with worry are you well enough to be at school? Maybe you should discuss this with your gp?

Catwoman1985 Sat 31-Oct-20 11:46:10

Maybe @SquashedFlyBiscuits. The GP hasn't been hugely helpful so far. I am on anti-depressants/. anti-anxiety meds already.

SquashedFlyBiscuits Sat 31-Oct-20 21:39:47

If you were previously shielding are ecv or cv, I really feel that getting signed off with stress would be totally reasonable. I know how stressed I am and I am not in any of those categories. I can't imagine how stressed you must be. Do what you need to do.