Talk

Advanced search

Tips on how to stay calm with a child when they are hitting the self destruct button

(16 Posts)
cluelessinstyle Sat 12-Oct-19 16:50:59

I work in a school as a TA, year 4. I love my job.

This year in my class we have 5 very vulnerable children, all of whom need high emotional support. No problems there. But one, who is suicidal is being very hard at the moment. He is constantly being hard work all day, there is literally nothing we cann praise him for. Hitting, stealing, snatching, breaking things, pointing/laughing, lying. You name it. So how do I keep my cool with him and give him the support he needs? He is very good at winding up the other vulnerable children so they end up in tears with it all. I just want to be able to support him, but don't know how. Help

OP’s posts: |
IamHyouweegobshite Sat 12-Oct-19 20:33:09

I feel your pain, I'm in Y5 and in a very similar position. Remember, as cheesy as it sounds, all behaviour is communication. Does your school have any therapies, play or art, is he interested in sport at all? Can you deflect situations? Choose your battles, some need to be dealt with, some can be like water off a ducks back. The suicidal aspect is a big worry, what help is in place for the child? Have cahms or early help got involved?

cluelessinstyle Sat 12-Oct-19 21:57:59

It only came to light about the suicidal thoughts last week, so school is brilliantly supporting the whole family at the moment. It's just so hard. Some of my other children are currently at risk of being taken from their families, so really don't need.more hassle at school from other children. And then there's just the rest of the class.to help as well. Picking battles is wise words, but when he is physically and emotionally hurting others you can't ignore it. Sadly he won't accept cuddles either (I work in an area of high depravity and cuddles are deemed ok to give as they don't get them at home)

OP’s posts: |
rbdigital Sun 13-Oct-19 07:40:42