Talk

Advanced search

Reports -can I refuse to do anymore?

(19 Posts)
JennyBlueWren Sun 25-Feb-18 09:45:14

I know I won't but feeling so fed up!

I spent ages writing the reports and now spending the whole weekend rewriting them. I know I won't finish them to hand in again on Monday but they're meant to be going out to parents on Friday. I'm going on maternity leave in a few weeks so my reports and parents' evenings have been brought forward.

I've been teaching for 10 years and beyond a few errors never had to do so much rewriting of reports. I started at a new school last year so should have known what to expect this year as I had to redo mine several times last year.

She wants me to give more detail and talk about more areas in each box but the text has to fit the box and be the correct size. I can't even see how to do it.

I don't even agree with lots of the things she wants me to change and resent giving up another weekend to them especially as my 3 year old is getting fed up of "mummy doing school work" all the time and not being able to play with him.

Wish I had the strength to just refuse to redo them beyond SPaG errors.

bunbunny Sun 25-Feb-18 10:14:29

Can you ask her to write one for you with the right amount of detail at the right size while remaining factually correct so that you have a template of what she expects and you don't have to waste precious free time that you have already got plans for... Choose a challenging one rather than an easy one obviously, that is going to be one of the longest going on previous feedback.

And then pick her up when it's too long and/or wrong or she changed the font size, explaining that if you gave her that report she would reject it because of [reasons].