Talk

Advanced search

Teaching these days! Grrr

(113 Posts)
Piggywaspushed Fri 23-Feb-18 16:37:28

So fed up of not being able to shout at a child in peace (as it were) without a) getting a load of posturing and lip and b) their parents complaining (about the teacher, obviously).

I used to love a good shout and it used to be rather effective.

That is all.

custardcream1988 Fri 23-Feb-18 16:40:25

You don't need to shout to discipline.

In fact, shouting is one of the least effective forms of discipline. All you are demonstrating to the children is that you have basically reached your limit and you've nowhere else to go.

Qvar Fri 23-Feb-18 16:41:20

GF

Piggywaspushed Fri 23-Feb-18 16:43:38

Oh right custard : thanks for that.

Are you a teacher?

It worked pretty effectively at the time as the young person started behaving.

Piggywaspushed Fri 23-Feb-18 16:44:07

qvar I take it you don't mean me?

user1483387154 Fri 23-Feb-18 16:44:24

As a teacher myself I have never shouted at a child or felt the need to.

Piggywaspushed Fri 23-Feb-18 16:45:15

I can tell you now if one of my own children behaved the way certain young people do, or if I found out they had at school, I'd bloody well shout at them too.

Piggywaspushed Fri 23-Feb-18 16:45:40

secondary user ???

Elocutioner Fri 23-Feb-18 16:46:42

Shouting in what way? In a loss of control way?

Piggywaspushed Fri 23-Feb-18 16:47:35

Nope. Good old fashioned bollocking.

bakingdemon Fri 23-Feb-18 16:48:53

One of the things I sometimes miss from teaching is the ability to deliver a proper bollocking. Man is it satisfying to do occasionally. And done right it does work.

AmUsername Fri 23-Feb-18 16:49:53

Sorry to disagree but I've been teaching for 10 years and I don't think I've ever shouted at a student. Raised my voice to get attention when breaking up a fight etc but never at a particular kid.
Not my style, I suppose.

MsAwesomeDragon Fri 23-Feb-18 16:52:45