Talk

Advanced search

I am broken

(15 Posts)
Greenandcabbagelooking Tue 05-Dec-17 19:15:17

I'm a trainee teacher doing QTS via a SCITT, plus a PGCE through university.

I am utterly broken. I've spent much of today in tears, mostly though sheer exhaustion. I taught 4 consecutive lessons today. I've written an assignment. I've planned the rest of the week. I've been to a meeting.

Tomorrow I am helping with an extra-curricular activity.

I am so tired, I'm thinking about quitting. The thought of doing this for another two weeks is overwhelming.

I'm not even sure why I'm posting. Just to vent I guess!

MsJaneAusten Tue 05-Dec-17 19:19:54

If you like the actual teaching, hang on there!

The other stuff becomes much more bearable as you get used to it. These first few weeks in December (when Christmas is just too far away to be a reality) are always tough, but you've got a two week holiday within sniffing distance...

Are you able to rest at all at the weekend?

Rockandrollwithit Tue 05-Dec-17 19:20:12

I've been teaching for 8 years now and my training year (PGCE) was by far the hardest. There wasn't a day on school placements where I didn't want to quit.

I love my job now. You get quicker at planning and marking and more confident at being in front of the class. You encounter the same types of classes and learn how to deal with behaviour. There's not much about actual teaching that would stress me now.

If you really think teaching isn't for you, there's no shame in quitting. But if you think it is and it's just really hard now, hang in there. flowers

Balfe Tue 05-Dec-17 19:22:09

It's this time of year. And it's a full moon.

Do you think you need to go to the GP? If not, start cutting down now. Stay in school until 4.30-5, leave, go home and do no work.

Start printing off Christmas shutter-uppers from Twinkl or go to HobbyCraft and buy a shit load of Christmas crafty shite that will keep them occupied for an afternoon.