Talk

Advanced search

Would anyone recommend being a Teaching Assistant as a career?

(7 Posts)
squirrelonapetridish Sat 02-Dec-17 17:14:53

I'm currently working as Learning Support in Higher Education, one zero hours contract, not paid in holidays etc..My background is in FE and HE support, no primary /secondary experience at all. I desperately need a permanent contract, that pays something over the holidays. Would a Teaching Assistant be a good move for me or is it jumping from the frying pan into to the fire?! Please advise!!

Frusso Sat 02-Dec-17 17:18:54

It's transferable enough to step into secondary. The trouble is it being pro rata salaried, so paid the whole year, but monthly wage is lower. And a lot of TA positions are yearly contracts.

squirrelonapetridish Sat 02-Dec-17 18:12:36

That's what I thought, but it may be a better situation than I'm in now. The summer holidays are so long!! I'm also paid in arrears so I didn't get a full months pay until November!

IJoinedJustToPostThis Sat 02-Dec-17 18:16:34

Depends on the school, really. I've seen some TAs having to work their fingers to the bone, others who have a rather lovely low-stress job with nice kids and very reasonable expectations.

If you're on zero hours anyway, depending on your area / own transport etc, it might be worth your while to join a supply agency - a relatively easy way of trying out a few different work places.

PhatSlag Sat 02-Dec-17 18:16:48

I’ve been a TA for a couple of years, absolutely love it. I’m not doing it at the minute as I’ve been assigned to be an LSA and I really hate it so I’m praying I can go back to being a TA next year. You get all the good bits of teaching without the stress of being the teacher.
Paid throughout the year too.

Milkandtwosugarsplease Sun 03-Dec-17 00:10:04