Talk

Advanced search

Advice about career

(11 Posts)
diddlemethis Sat 11-Nov-17 10:27:59

Hello,

Looking for advice. I have a BA in embroidery design (niche I realise) I am a practicing designer, and I enjoy that, but it is a bit lonesome.

I help at my children’s few paying prep school, I run a club teaching a few some basic embroidery skill,and I enjoy it.

I, for the usual relationship reasons, need to develop a career where I have a regular personal income, this is difficult to achieve with my freelance design work.

I am considering becoming a teaching assistant, ideally in the school my children attend. Would I need to get additional TA qualifications, or would my BA suffice?

Have I got an overly sweet view of what that might be like as a career, given I have only been a parent helper, is there a grim reality?

I realise I should ask the school, but I thought I should pick brains here first, it might be embarrassing for both them and me if the idea is a non starter.

Thank you, also I am 39 if that is relevant.

GinasGirl Sat 11-Nov-17 10:31:26

I'm a TA and have a BA, but I'm still doing the level 3 assisting teaching and learning course.
I started out at the school volunteering and am now covering full time, hoping that when a permanent job comes up the experience plus qualification will put me ahead.

diddlemethis Sat 11-Nov-17 10:53:53

Thank you Gina. Did you attend college or attain your TA qualification online? if that latter could you recommend somewhere? There seem to be a lot of folk offering courses with very different fees.

diddlemethis Sat 11-Nov-17 11:08:44

For example, I am considering this:

https://www.uklearningcollege.co.uk/higher-level-teaching-assistant-course-level-4-diploma-p-63.html

Would anyone rate this approach?

GinasGirl Sat 11-Nov-17 11:33:26

I'm doing it online through Stonebridge. It was recommended to be by another TA at school.

GinasGirl Sat 11-Nov-17 11:33:44

*me

GinasGirl Sat 11-Nov-17 11:35:24