Talk

Advanced search

Struggling to get school experience

(6 Posts)
LadyLance Mon 06-Nov-17 07:06:07

I'm looking to apply for a Secondary PGCE in Biology for 2018 entry. I have lots of experience working with teenagers in my current job, but I'm struggling to find schools that will allow me to come in and observe/get my initial school experience- most unis require 10 days as a minimum. Many of the local schools I have emailed have said internal issues mean they aren't offering work experience at the moment.

I have a few contacts who may hopefully be able to help me, but I wondered if anyone had any advice. Due to my current job it is difficult for me to ring schools during the day, so I am having to arrange everything via email.

Changerofname987654321 Mon 06-Nov-17 09:21:00

Do you know any teachers? Ask them. I would also aske for a week only and then do a week in two schools. This will be better for you and it is less pressure on the School.

Cynderella Mon 06-Nov-17 21:59:00

Yes, keep going. Do bear in mind that teachers are swamped with emails. You may get further with a lunchtime phone call.

LadyLance Tue 07-Nov-17 08:24:11

I know a few former teachers, and one of them was able to provide me with a contact, but that school aren't able to provide work experience right now due to internal issues.

I would be happy to just do a few days at a couple of schools, so I will make this clear in future emails.

Unfortunately, it's pretty rare at work for me to get the type of break where I could go to my car and make private phone calls, but if I can I will try to call instead. I totally understand that while this is important to me, it's not really a high priority for teachers.

Fffion Tue 07-Nov-17 17:56:14

What area are you in Lady?

Goldrill Tue 07-Nov-17 19:10:47

Have you tried the Get into teaching website (or whatever it's called! ) - the government one? They can help you find schools who will take people.