Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

I want to be a teacher, but I need to work.

(21 Posts)
LegallyBronde Wed 25-Oct-17 19:35:45

Title says it all really smile I'm currently in my second year of an OU degree and I want to teach in secondary schools eventually. I work full time at the moment and it's getting increasingly difficult to complete the work, do my own job and have a bit of a life.

I've been looking at TA posistions as I'm currently doing 45+ hour week and I am hoping a TA role will give me experience and a better work/life balance whilst I complete my studies but they all want experience?! I can't quit my job, the bills need to be paid so I can't pop in a few hours a day and volunteer. My holiday entitlement is spent in half term, with my DC so I can't do it then either sad. Does anyone have any wisdom please?

toomuchicecream Wed 25-Oct-17 19:44:37

Just apply anyway, citing the experience you have via your own DCs. What's the worst that can happen?

Could you squeeze some volunteer work in somewhere (second time I've suggested it this evening) ie youth club or similar so that although you don't have experience in school, you can show you have experience of dealing with teenagers?

LegallyBronde Wed 25-Oct-17 20:29:28

Thanks toomuchicecream I volunteer with my DS football club and could get references from that, it was a few years ago but I'm still friendly with some of the people involved. My time is limited at the moment as my study takes up so much time and any down time I want to spend with my family or catching up on job related admin.

I'm just so scared if the rejection blush

tissuesosoft Wed 25-Oct-17 20:32:36

You'll need to spend at least two weeks in a school setting prior to applying for a PGCE course as well. Can you apply for a school direct once you've completed your studies?

tissuesosoft Wed 25-Oct-17 20:35:10