Talk

Advanced search

Safeguarding - boundaries. Do I need to be concerned?

(12 Posts)
ohreallyohreallyoh Sun 08-Oct-17 19:41:09

I am a secondary teacher. One of my children is in year 4. This week we have had another child from his class turn up on the doorstep to play at 6pm. I let him in and sent him back at 7 with my eldest (14) to make sure he got home safe. I don't know either parent, never met them. Yesterday, same child turned up again with a second child - also from same class. Turns out their parents are in a relationship and they refer to themselves as 'step brother/sister'. Don't know her parents either. They stayed for 2. 1/2 hours, I fed them, sent them home with the eldest at 7.

Perfectly nice children, clean, polite, well mannered. It's cheeky, I get that. But do I need to let the school know and/or Social Services? They live about a 6-7 minute walk away so not far. I just wouldn't allow my own 8 year old out unaccompanied and certainly not to a house where I had no knowledge whatsoever of the parents. Is there a concern here or is it just different parenting standards?

SuburbanRhonda Sun 08-Oct-17 19:43:28

Take them back yourself next time, OP, and ideal to the parents yourself.

It doesn't sound like a safeguarding issue on the information you've given (DSL here).

SuburbanRhonda Sun 08-Oct-17 19:43:51

Ideal? Speak.

Digestive28 Sun 08-Oct-17 19:44:48

I would subtly let the school know, there maybe a wider context you aren't aware of, there may not be but all you can do is pass on the information.
You probably need to be clear about what you can commit yourself, how often is too often for them to come round etc. X

TinselTwins Sun 08-Oct-17 19:50:51

I don't think it's ideal parenting but it's certainly not unusual. I don't think it's a safeguarding issue unless there are other concerns

ohreallyohreallyoh Sun 08-Oct-17 19:55:43