Talk

Advanced search

Moving day-no pay

(12 Posts)
rivershine Sun 25-Jun-17 20:43:22

I work as a class teacher in a state primary and am completing on my house move this week so have had to ask for a moving day. This has been granted by my HT but I have been told it will be unpaid. There's nothing about a moving day in my contract and I just wondered if this has happened to anyone else. I realise that ideally teachers would move in the holidays but this is not always possible.

OP’s posts: |
Bobbybobbins Sun 25-Jun-17 20:46:55

Yep I had to take an unpaid day for a family wedding. sad

BlessYourCottonSocks Sun 25-Jun-17 20:48:39

Generally if you need to take a day off for personal reasons in term time it is at the HT discretion as to whether to pay you or not, I think. I have taken time off for a funeral which was given but unpaid. I think you'll just have to shrug and accept it. Doesn't seem to be any reason why you should be paid for teaching that day if you're actually shifting moving boxes about. Presumably they'll need to get supply in to cover you?

BobbinThreadbare123 Sun 25-Jun-17 20:51:24

Depends on your school, and how nice your head is! I worked for a school who happily granted it and paid you. I also worked for a school where the head granted it at a whim; a colleague asked for a moving day and it was granted, paid. I asked about a fortnight later and was completely refused with no reason. That head was foul though.

ILoveMyMonkey Sun 25-Jun-17 20:54:18

Moving day at my school is in the staff absence policy, we get up to 2 days unpaid.

rivershine Sun 25-Jun-17 21:29:19

Thanks. I haven't queried it as I presumed it was at the HT's discretion. It's funny how all the extra 'voluntary' activities in your own time aren't recognised though- extra evenings in school for various events(not including Parents' evenings), weekend fairs or festivals.

OP’s posts: |
thebookeatinggirl Sun 25-Jun-17 22:24:37