Talk

Advanced search

First day tomorrow! Any tips?

(12 Posts)
laurzj82 Sun 23-Apr-17 11:40:04

Hi everyone,

It is my first day tomorrow volunteering in a local primary. I would like to make a good impression. Does anyone have any tips for me? I am so nervous!

Tia

MissClarke86 Sun 23-Apr-17 11:47:40

Don't be nervous, enjoy!

I'm a teacher. It's a really busy job so the best thing you can do is offer to help and if you see something that needs doing, help out. It's likely to be things like sticking work in, tidying the room, putting resources out. Don't be offended if they're too busy for a chat, especially in the mornings - it's frantic!

When they're teaching, sit with children and help when necessary (but don't talk over the teacher). Don't just sit at a table away from the kids - it might mean plonking yourself on the carpet if they're young.

Help discretely with behaviour - watch the teacher and TA and do what they do. Otherwise the kids will walk all over you!

Ask who you can support and how much help to give (and don't just do it for them!)

MissClarke86 Sun 23-Apr-17 11:49:36

My main issue with some volunteers is when they sit watching me work and do nothing, both when preparing for lessons and when teaching, so just get involved as much as possible!

user1492362793 Sun 23-Apr-17 11:53:56

What a great thing to do! Be happy and smiley and positive with staff and children. You will probably be given lots of policies to read - safeguarding etc. Read them and ask questions if you don't understand. Wear something smart but comfy....leggings and a top maybe? Or black trousers with a blouse? Nothing low cut or tight or too short. Confidentiality is really important too....don't be tempted to repeat anything you've seen or heard outside of the school. Other than that, enjoy it and have fun! Good luck.smile

Matildatoldsuchdreadfullies Sun 23-Apr-17 11:58:46