Talk

Advanced search

Advice for volunteering position interview

(10 Posts)
Count2three Sun 05-Mar-17 16:08:34

Hi
Tomorrow I have a 30 minute interview for a voluntary position at a primary school. All I know is it is more of an admin / teacher support than a TA child support role.

I have no teaching experience, have been a SAHM for 5 years and am looking for a change in direction. I am hoping this will lead to a paid position at the school in time.

Does anyone have any advice to offer me for the interview, please?

Boiled7Up Sun 05-Mar-17 16:28:59

For a voluntary position, I'd be surprised if it was an interview- are you sure it's not just more of a chat to check you out?

You may be asked about child protection. Basically, you never question the child and report the concern immediately to the person in charge of cp (usually the HT).

Wonderpants Sun 05-Mar-17 16:38:32

Good luck! Make sure you understand child protection policies (should be on their website), confidentiality and professionalism- you do not talk about anything that happens in school, especially not the children or anything negative, be prepared to muck in- do the mundane and mucky!
Are you volunteering for a purpose? Are you hoping for a career in education? Be clear about that and remember that it should be a reciprocal relationship- you should not be an unpaid TA or doing the job of someone that should be paid, but you should be gaining something for yourself.

SmileAndNod Sun 05-Mar-17 19:56:01

I volunteer at a primary school and didn't have an interview but did have to complete a DBS check and an induction where policies (CP, confidentiality) were discussed. They will probably ask about these, as well as maybe other skills you could bring to the school.