Talk

Advanced search

Not sure what the problem is.

(13 Posts)
Wellmeetontheledge Sun 05-Mar-17 13:03:27

I'm a year 1 teacher who passed my NQT year with flying colours last year. I'm 23 and have always wanted to teach, I also have a history of mental health issues and partly because of those don't have much self confidence. I am good at teaching in front of a class however I am struggling so much with feeling cynical and demotivated at the moment. I dont have much of a life in term time as I am constantly working or thinking about school work and worrying that I will have missed something. In the holidays I struggle emotionally with lack of structure. My partner has been away for the past week and things have come to a head, I was not as patient as I should have been on Friday with my kids and last night (I stayed at my parents) I woke my parents up as I had nightmares and was screaming in my sleep, I then woke myself up having a panic attack. I love my class but I am finding the immense pressure of results difficult and constantly worry I'll be found to be doing something wrong/not doing enough. But I'd like my own kids in a few years time and know that teachers holidays would be handy. I find year 1 tricky as I have to push children to do things they aren't developmentally ready for yet. I don't have many close friends and so feel I can't talk about this to anyone. I can't work out if the reason I'm feeling so down and conflicted is because of me or because of the job. I don't want to leave teaching because I worked so hard to get here, I love the kids and it's a big part of my identity but I struggle with the sheer amount of extra work. I also don't want to make any decisions I might regret and find the thought of switching careers daunting. I'm also not qualified for anything else that would pay as well and feel very trapped. I also feel silly because all the other teachers at my school are coping and I'm not. Does anyone have any advice?