Talk

Advanced search

Is Y4 "boring"?

(15 Posts)
SarfEast1cated Thu 02-Mar-17 00:14:35

I am puzzled, because my 9yr DD doesn't like her teacher (he is new) and finds school "boring". Her new teacher is an ambitious chap (TeachFirst I believe), who is very orderly in the classroom and doesn't like fun (apparently!). He's a bit of a stickler for neatness and 'behaviour'.
As a Primary PGCE student myself I sympathise with him and imagine that a lot of the issues my DD has with him is because he is trying desperately hard to get through everything, and keep them all on track.
I'm not sure how to broach it with him really, but DD who always used to love school and work really hard feels unappreciated and disliked. I wonder if maybe Y4 is a tricky year - they are older and more confident - always trying to break the odd uniform rule and (I can imagine) less likely to behave beautifully for a sticker.
So what do you think teachers? Is the Y4 curriculum boring? Are the kids hormonal and weird? Can I do anything to fix this?
What do you think?

PurpleAlerts Thu 02-Mar-17 00:30:58

Quite frankly I think the Primary curriculum, not just year 4, overall is diabolical.

Children are chained to desks and taught to jump through hoops in order to fulfill pointless success criteria with creativity positively forbidden.

It breaks my heart.

ImtheSantaAnaWinds Thu 02-Mar-17 00:39:43

My DD found yr 4 to be boring and was utterly miserable. "Writing, writing and more writing". Things have picked up this year, but she has a simply brilliant teacher who tries to make things fun at every point. Not looking forward to yr 6 at all as it will be back to endless drudge and pointless tests.

SarfEast1cated Thu 02-Mar-17 00:44:29

What I find particularly sad is that my DD loves writing! So it wouldn't really take much to keep her happy. I think her CT is just going a bit overboard on behaviour but it's alienating all of the class.

SarfEast1cated Thu 02-Mar-17 00:46:35