Talk

Advanced search

Should I resign or stick it out?

(18 Posts)
searchingforsunshine395 Sun 26-Feb-17 09:01:23

Good morning,

I have been working in a school for two years and have become more aware over that time of how frustratingly calculated and awful SLT can be. They have no empathy or compassion, whatsoever, even in the worst personal circumstance.

I have also noticed the overall behaviour of students decline and no support is given by SLT, unless it's to those who are in one way or another, affiliated with them, in which case everything is glorious and outstanding.

I have always wanted to be a teacher, but (not to sound dramatic, although I do) this has broken my teaching heart. Every day I go to work, my blood boils with all of the unfairness for kids and staff. I'm not even sure I want to be a teacher any more. I feel thoroughly demotivated, exhausted and ambivalent about the whole thing.

I want to leave. In the back of my mind, I know I wouldn't think twice if I were in any other profession. I'd just hand my notice in. I planned on leaving at the end of the school year, whether I had a job lined up or not, but now I want to get out even sooner and find another job/s.

The school is experiencing a mass exodus and I feel a tremendous amount of guilt. I do have a year 11 class, too. I planned to leave in May when all of their formal teaching is over and it's just revision, knowing I'd done all I could.

Economically, it's better for me to stay until the end of the year, of course, although I would earn more on regular supply than I do currently.

I'd just like some advice really, if anyone has any.

Thanks in advance.

RandomDent Sun 26-Feb-17 09:04:51