Talk

Advanced search

Looking for a new teaching position after 9 years - crapping my pants, help.

(10 Posts)
ILoveMyMonkey Thu 23-Feb-17 10:45:14

I've been a teacher in my current school for 9 years and haven't had an interview for 11 years (I got my current position because I'd done a placement there and the head new me so no interview was done).

So now I need to move for financial reasons, I currently work part time 0.4 and need more hours for us to cope financially.

The thing is I am so scared about the whole interview process.

So if you have had an interview recently, for a class teacher position, or have conducted an interview please would you mind giving me some insight into the kind of tasks set and the sort of questions they ask these days.

I think if I feel a bit more prepared and less like I'm stabbing in the dark then some of the fear might be reduced.

I've interviewed and been an interviewee recently. First of all, you're in a good position. Anyone looking at your application will see you're willing to commit to a school. Lots of heads are looking for experienced staff so don't worry about being 'too expensive' or 'too old'.

To get as far as the interview, you need a really good covering letter. Make yourself stand out. Make it really clear why you want THAT job in THAT school. Most of the good letters I've seen are about 1.5 sides of A4 and link closely to the person spec. Shorter and you probably won't have covered everything; longer and you're probably waffling.

If you get to interview, the usual format (for secondary) is:
- meet with head
- tour of school
- meet with dept
- teach a lesson
- task (marking / data / lesson plan / something else - you won't know until the day)
- pupil interview
- panel interview