Talk

Advanced search

Becoming a TA can anyone help with pointers, advice etc?

(22 Posts)
pastelmacaroons Thu 09-Feb-17 10:21:34

Have I posted in the right place?

I am thinking about looking into being a TA. I have a degree but no Maths GCSE, do I need to get this?
What are my steps, before DC I was a temp, have two dc and want a job in term time.
Can anyone help, are TA needed - in demand etc thanks

PurpleDaisies Thu 09-Feb-17 10:25:40

Most posts will require you to have a c in gcse maths (or sometimes an equivalent qualification). What's your degree in?

Unfortunately most TA jobs are very popular so it's not an in demand job. Have you got experience working with children? Maybe volunteering while you're getting your maths gcse could be a sensible way forward?

pastelmacaroons Thu 09-Feb-17 10:34:17

Degree in History 2:2.
Is being a TA route into teaching?

Its literally a brand new idea that only came to me yesterday so I am on the ground with the first few crumbs so far grin.
How does one go about volunteering, call up schools and ask? Would I need to get personal police check or would schools do it? I couldnt volunteer right now due to Dc still at home a few days a week. I want to get ready for when youngest starts school.

PurpleDaisies Thu 09-Feb-17 10:54:08

Some people work as a TA before teaching. Are you thinking primary or secondary?

Why are you thinking about teaching if you don't mind me asking? If it's just a job in term time you want it's a pretty stressful one.

Are your children in school yet? You could ask their teacher if they want parent helpers on trips or to listen to the children reading. They are normally very glad of that sort of help. The dbs check will vary across schools so I'd just ask them what they normally do.

pastelmacaroons Thu 09-Feb-17 11:10:50

One in school one will start in Sept. I cant really do admin and I desperately need a job. I have done extensive temping across various fields but not teaching.