Talk

Advanced search

Progress 8 appraisal target

(14 Posts)
lostowl Tue 27-Sep-16 18:37:52

But for KS4 year 9 because I don't teach year 11.

How is this fair? It isn't as measurable as year 11 obviously so I feel I'm being put at a disadvantage. I'm not agreeing to it, but was alternative can I offer?

noblegiraffe Tue 27-Sep-16 19:29:16

Eh? How can you have a progress 8 target for Y9 when progress 8 is a whole school calculation done in Y11 once they've sat their GCSEs?

What does the target actually say?

MrsS1980 Tue 27-Sep-16 19:32:39

How can you be measured against other subjects results? Are you a head of year or head of key stage?

lostowl Wed 28-Sep-16 11:58:56

Hi. I'm just a teacher on M4! I thought I was right to question it. Not sure what the target exactly is but I will not agree to doing progress 8 in Ks4 year 9. I don't teach year 11 as I work 2 days a week.

It's just ludicrous. I'll contact my Union if they make me.

lostowl Thu 29-Sep-16 11:31:42

Any idea for a different target?

Fallulah Thu 29-Sep-16 11:33:44

What about % of year 9 class being on track to make/exceed expected progress?

samlovesdilys Fri 30-Sep-16 21:46:10

Surely their progress in yr9 is based upon internal assessment (i.e. You) so you just need to show they make progress along their 'flight path'... through your own assessment...sounds like a win-win target ... but sounds like appraisal is 'jumping through hoops' - exactly what we don't want it to be...I would be more concerned with the tone of the process than the actual target...

mineofuselessinformation Fri 30-Sep-16 21:54:09

Contact your Union now.
And state 'I do not agree to this target' on your appraisal - but warn the appraiser beforehand.

t4nut Mon 03-Oct-16 11:27:59