Report writing at the start of maternity leave

(9 Posts)
seven201 Tue 26-Apr-16 18:19:30

I'm a secondary teacher and I go on maternity leave the first day after half term. There are lots of long reports due next term. One of them is due during half term so i fine with writing those ones (2 groups). A few weeks into the summer term there is a ks3 report deadline - I teach 3 groups. I'm in a non core subject and we teach one rotation so I won't actually have taught all these classes for very long (between 6 weeks and 12 weeks) for two lessons a week. There is also a yr 10 long report due slightly later on. I have been asking which reports I need to write for a while but haven't got an answer yet. I raised it again today and was told I'd probably have to write all of those ones. Whilst I appreciate that I will know them more than whoever covers me I feel I should be given time off timetable or a KIT day, but my HOD mentioned that I'm still being paid so should do them?! I'm not being paid at my normal salary though! I can see that it would be good for me to do the year 10 ones but I do think I should be given time to do this. For ks3 I don't see what is wrong with all of the students being given the same statement that I am on maternity leave and just summarising what they have learnt since September or for me to be given the time to do this. I have got a mammoth back log of marking (due to coursework marking taking priority) which I feel is more important. I've just finished a different set of long reports (2 classes) and have long tutor reports due in 1 1/2 weeks.

Am I being unreasonable and should do all of these reports during the start of my maternity leave (realistically I don't have time to do them before)? I'm knackered as I have bad back pain and awful acid reflux so do not get much sleep, I just want my maternity leave to be actual leave, not work.

noblegiraffe Tue 26-Apr-16 18:34:45

my HOD mentioned that I'm still being paid so should do them