Talk

Advanced search

How do I make the break?

(6 Posts)
Theimpossiblegirl Sun 07-Feb-16 16:37:08

It has taken me several attempts to write this post. I think I have had enough. I can't go on with the workload, the constant feeling of not doing enough/not being good enough and never feeling on top of things, no matter how hard I try.

I'm a good teacher, I make a difference, I care, I'm creative and passionate and work so hard to help the children reach their potential. I have taken everything they've thrown at me and given it my best shot but I feel so worn down by the system, by constant pressure from SLT and by the guilt of not being there enough for my own family. I also feel really sad for the children having their Primary education screwed about with for political gain, it's shit and I'm glad my own kids are in Secondary now and had nice primary experiences with less pressure.

So, do I leave teaching altogether? Are all schools like this? I really, really don't want to quit teaching but I also know I can't carry on like this for another 20+ years. I'm very tempted to just hand in my notice for the end of the summer term and see what happens, but I'm scared. We need my income but we can cut back as long as I bring something in.

ArmchairTraveller Sun 07-Feb-16 17:08:59

Supply.
That way you get to see a lot of different schools and no, they aren't the same at all. I did it a few years ago. Dropped my income by around half but worth it. Now we don't have as much money, but I have a life I actually enjoy living.

ImperialBlether Sun 07-Feb-16 17:12:59

I wouldn't teach supply. I would be worried that the most stressed out teachers are those going off sick.

Can you think of another career you'd be happy doing? I've left teaching after a long time and don't know anyone who's happy in it now, so I'd be reluctant to encourage you to try another school.

Theimpossiblegirl Sun 07-Feb-16 17:32:49