Talk

Advanced search

Any primary assessment co-ordinators around?

(3 Posts)
captainflash Tue 06-Oct-15 21:27:56

Grateful for any help as I am procrastinating as always! My school is currently internally advertising for an assessment co-ordinator on a Tlr 2a. I know I can do this job. I've been teaching for around 12 years, experience in KS1 and KS2, have experience in administering both sets of SATS and am well aware of the changes for this coming academic year. I am in Year 6 again and have previously worked with moderating teams in writing and in reading. My judgements are highly regarded and I know I have the skills and organisational capacity to do this.

Why am I dithering? I need / want to take the next steps in my career and this really gives me a step up and would be a great opportunity for me to progress in a school I love.

I am all to aware of the state of flux we are all in with assessment without levels but I have ideas and drive and the school have made great strides I can build on. I have to write a letter to apply and then go through a short interview. Has anyone got any advice?? Or pointers to read / look at? Or give me any good buzz words to build on. I know my stuff- I just don't know how to phrase it properly!!

partystress Tue 06-Oct-15 21:37:08

I have done it for two years - also while in Year 6. It has given me good insights into the state of assessment, how DfE work (or, more accurately, malfunction) and a good understanding of my school's strengths and weaknesses, how to analyse RAISE, what goes in the SEF etc. So I would say a good platform for a role in leadership.