Talk

Advanced search

Looking for advice regarding bereavement and sick leave

(15 Posts)
Pinkpenguin89 Sun 07-Jun-15 20:23:29

I hope I'm posting in the right place.

I'm a primary school teacher. Four weeks ago, my dad passed away. It was sudden and unexpected. He wasn't ill. We were very close. He was only 55. To say I'm still in shock and devastated is an understatement.

I took two weeks off work and then it was half term, which made it three weeks. My head teacher was very supportive. I went back to work after half term. I got through three days and then got home and broke down. I had to call in sick for the Thursday and Friday because I could barely get out of bed. Again, head teacher very supportive and understanding. Since then I've been as low as I could possibly imagine. I've barely left the house. Even getting out of bed is a challenge.

So, my head teacher expects me back tomorrow, because I said I would 'try again on Monday'.

I can't face going in. Friends and family and my partner all think I should go back to my doctor and take more time off.

I do feel like I need more time.

But, it's the last half term. There's a lot to do. I don't want to let anyone down. I don't want to let my head teacher down or for her to think I'm taking advantage when she's been so supportive.

Can I ask what people think I should do? What would you do? What would you think of someone in your workplace if they took more time off?

I feel so low. I can't face work but I don't want to let people down.

susiedaisy Sun 07-Jun-15 20:26:26

So sorry for your loss. Must be a terrible shock to have lost him so suddenly hmm

I would go to your gp and get a sick note for a few weeks if it were me, in fact I'm not sure I would even make it back before the end of term.

IdespairIreallydo Sun 07-Jun-15 20:31:00

Condolences on your loss, what a terrible shock.