Talk

Advanced search

Today I 'observed' the teacher I want to be...

(20 Posts)
DontGotoRoehamptonUniversity Tue 16-Dec-14 19:41:11

I am a supply teacher, so don't usually get to see other people's lessons, but today the subject teacher wanted to start the lesson off and so I waited and observed. Was so impressed - better than any I observed in my own training - gave me great ideas to improve my own practice. And made me think - all around there are really inspiring teachers who are daily giving fab lessons that their bosses don't see - I just wish there was a way of this being noticed somehow... Fed back to the staff I met at lunchtime, but obviously sounds a bit cheesy coming from a supply teacher...

This is lovely, and doesn't sound cheesy at all. Did you tell him/her? Hope so - you'd have made their day.

saadia Tue 16-Dec-14 20:11:26

That is really lovely OP. When I did supply I copied a lesson that a teacher had planned for me to teach and used it in a subsequent interview lesson and got the job.

I haven't had much opportunity to observe other teachers so have been resorting to youtube for examples. Could you say what one or two of the best aspects of the lesson were?

FabulousFudge Tue 16-Dec-14 22:12:53

How lovely! I hope you told her (and perhaps someone on the SLT,) I learned soooo much from supply. I loved it!

DontGotoRoehamptonUniversity Wed 17-Dec-14 16:56:57

(Thanks - did not see her again yesterday, but did get a call from the school today asking me back this week - I couldn't go as pre-booked elsewhere, but did take the oppo to tell the HoD what I told you - she seemed pleased so hope she will pass on to that teacher, and next time I go back will do myself)

Nonie241419 Wed 17-Dec-14 21:08:57

I love going watching my colleagues teach as I always learn something new. I wish we were all more open to sharing good practice as I'd love to observe teachers in other settings too.

PurpleAlert Wed 17-Dec-14 23:45:08