Talk

Advanced search

Teaching PE while pregnant

(11 Posts)
pasbeaucoupdegendarme Tue 09-Dec-14 13:51:24

I am a primary teacher, I have a mixed Y1/2 class. I work 3 days a week so naturally 1 PE lesson falls on one of my days.

I am 14 weeks pregnant, and beginning to think about PE next term. This term we have been doing Dance in my sessions, and as my pregnancy was only in the early stages teaching it has been fine (well, as fine as anything has been while I've been wanting to throw up constantly!). Next term we are due to be doing Gym so that will involve rather more physical support of the children, not to mention lifting of all equipment/apparatus/crash mats etc. I have no TA in the afternoon so can't ask her, and the children can't do it obviously as they are too small. Added to which, I'll be growing a stomach!

Should I ask my job share to take on my PE (which will mean PE on consecutive days)? What would happen if I was full time? I ask because it gives me a clue as to what is reasonable to ask for. Last time I was pg I didn't teach PE so the problem didn't arise, and the school I was in was so H&S mad they even took me off break duty in case I was knocked over!!

Any one with any experience or ideas?

MrsPigling Tue 09-Dec-14 14:16:25

have your school done a risk assessment?

I don't think you'd be unreasonable to ask for additional support during the lessons (so an extra adult to do the lifting, carrying, helping children on equipment). Your managers might decide it's easier to move pe to a day you don't teach, but that's up to them, not for you to decide. They're the managers - make it their problem.

Congratulations too smile

KittyandTeal Tue 09-Dec-14 14:31:02

I'm 15 weeks and have been doing an additional after school netball club for years 5/6 since sept.

I'm quitting after Xmas but only because I've been deemed 'high risk' and told I need to take things easy.