Talk

Advanced search

You do do marking in secondary don't you?

(25 Posts)
Berrie Fri 05-Dec-14 15:52:00

DS started middle school in September so he is in Year 6 but essentially in a secondary context.
He has worked hard on a number of lengthy written tasks for English and Humanities but had none of them back. He was enthusiastic and conscientious to begin with but I can tell he is wondering if it's worth bothering now.
Is this normal for secondary? Would you say anything?

Lucycat Fri 05-Dec-14 16:38:04

Yes work of any length and books are marked at least every couple of weeks, strengths are identified and targets set for the piece of work.The students then respond to the targets set for the piece of work in our SMART time, we check then, initial to say that they've been done and move on.

So yes work should have been marked - how is your ds supposed to know how to improve otherwise?

I'd email / write a note in his planner.

Berrie Fri 05-Dec-14 16:57:26

Being a teacher myself I don't really want him to be the child of that parent (although perhaps this is less obvious when there are more children?) Also his English teacher has been off for 3 weeks which might explain some, if not all of the English stuff. We all get ill and so it can't be helped. I wouldn't like to add to her woes...
I've drafted an email but feeling reluctant to send it. smile

Berrie Fri 05-Dec-14 17:05:30

Also...how to you pace the giving out of homework? One weekend he will have little to do - the next three long written pieces which take him hours.
Again, if he were in Y6 in any primary I've taught in, he'd have one or two pieces a week with reading and spellings. DS has to field a mix of French, Music, Library Skills, Design, Humanities, Maths and English. It doesn't seem fair on any of us sad

Lazymummy2014 Fri 05-Dec-14 17:11:48