Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Advice for dating a teacher

(15 Posts)
Singleandproud Thu 20-Nov-14 00:55:34

I'm posting this in here opposed to the Relationship forum because I think my issues come from dating a teacher and their workload more than anything.

My BF and I have been dating since last Summer everything went great at the beginning we saw each other twice a week, then he got promoted to be on the SLT team and it became harder to see each other whilst he got used to his new role and balancing my child free days ( I don't want to involve my Dd with anyone unless I'm making a serious commitment). I also work in education at a different school and took on a 6 month cover teaching position we saw each other rarely maybe once or twice a month, but at least I understood more about the workload/stress and sheer emotional exhaustion that he goes through. The Summer term we saw each other more as the workload lessened but now this term seems even worse. He is very career focused / the only one on his SLT team without a family so seems to get delegated more work, I know he gets up at 5am very rarely leaves work before 19:30 and pretty much just eats and goes to bed and as an introvert much like myself likes some quiet time to recharge and is very task orientated and although we saw quite a bit of each other over half term I haven't had so much as a text from him since then, he is notorious at not replying to anyone not jut me, I know he is struggling with the workload and I don't want to add to his stress. When I've brought up whether we should call it a day as we aren't moving forward and I'm frustrated he seems offended and that isn't what he wants at all, I've never met any family or friends although they live the otherwise of the country so understandable but for what should be an 18 month relationship it doesn't feel like it and how on earth are teachers supposed to have their own relationships if this is what it is like???