Talk

Advanced search

Any MFL teachers around?

(10 Posts)
GreenPencil Fri 07-Nov-14 12:21:08

I'm in my third year of a four year undergraduate degree and I'm thinking about future careers. There are huge financial incentives at the moment for graduates of Modern Languages to go into teaching, which is something I'm considering, but am slightly apprehensive/undecided.

When I was at school, languages were compulsory to GCSE and the kids who didn't want to be there would play up and make the MFL teachers' lives hellish, and I'm not sure the uninspiring curriculum helped. I'm concerned by these aspects, but still see teaching as a potentially hugely rewarding career - my teachers were fantastic and really got me engaged in languages, for which I'm hugely grateful.

So can anyone give me a bit of an insight into what it's like to teach MFL in secondary schools at the moment? smile

Primrose123 Fri 07-Nov-14 12:32:58

I didn't become an MFL teacher, but I did do a degree in French and German quite a few years ago. We were told that there were brilliant opportunities for MFL teachers. I started a PGCE but it wasn't right for me. I was disappointed by the terrible behaviour of many of the pupils, although there were lovely ones too. I went into industry, where I used my languages. I gave up after a while to look after my children, and have now retrained as an ESOL lecturer, (teaching adults) and start my first job in the next few weeks.