Talk

Advanced search

PGCE

(6 Posts)
Misfitless Thu 27-Feb-14 21:26:06

Would really appreciate the advice of any Early Years teachers out there.

I am considering applying for a PGCE in Early Years.

I regularly lurk on this board, so am aware that teaching is generally a very stressful job, but, am I completely naive and deluded to think that Early Years teaching is less stressful than primary and/or secondary?

Assuming that I am offered a place on the PGCE course, can somebody please explain how you gain your QTS status?

On the website of the institution I have looked at, it says that you can gain 'recommendation' for QTS, so I am a bit confused. I assume it's on successful completion of various placements and supporting evidence, but I don't know what the criteria is.

TIA

HalfSpamHalfBrisket Thu 27-Feb-14 21:41:24

Yes, I believe you are naive to think this. If you are looking for a low stress job, teaching (any school age) is not it.
I'm an early years teacher in a primary school. You could be an early years teacher in a nursery - but in that case you may be on a different contract with different t&cs to school teachers (eg, diff holidays, diff (longer) working hours).

In any setting, you will be have the same OFSTED pressures, the same hours planning, recording & evaluating, training and managing other staff, working with parents, teaching...
Soon, you will also probably get to 'lead' a subject or two school wide, and possibly start to train BEd/PGCE students in your classroom.
It all adds up to a very intersting and varied work life, but it IS full on and never-ending. You sell your soul to the school in term time and have a lovely relax/collapse over the holidays.

You gain QTS by passing the course and passing the skills tests. You also need to pass an NQT year to really be considered a fully qualified teacher (especially if you ever want to teach abroad).

Misfitless Thu 27-Feb-14 22:24:36

Thanks for the reply HalfSpam (grin at your name!)