Talk

Advanced search

How to find teachers who want to tutor

(9 Posts)
Jacarandablue Tue 04-Feb-14 21:36:11

I am a tutor and am inundated with clients and also have a huge waiting list. Just wondered if anyone had any suggestions of how I can find experienced teachers (or ex-teachers) who would like to tutor and take some of my waiting list students. I have tried word-of-mouth (initially successful), Gumtree (waste of time) and even asked at a few schools (they didn't want to be seen to condone tutoring). I want to be able to help students when they need it - not when I eventually have space for them.

Are there particular forums/websites teachers might look at where I could advertise? Would an ad in a local paper be something you might look at if you were looking to tutor?

Thank you - any suggestions welcomed.

Finickynotfussy Thu 06-Feb-14 22:11:42

I think the issue that you are up against is that many teachers will be too knackered to consider tutoring - I suspect most (like me) agree to do the occasional child because a friend/parent has asked us nicely. Also there was a circular from HMRC last year spelling out that teachers who don't do a tax return could owe tax on any undeclared tutoring or exam marking - that will have put some off I expect.

I do know retired and not-currently-working teachers who consider tutoring a nice way of keeping their hand in, however - could you track some down via the relevant subject association? Possibly NCT might be a way of finding suitable teachers who are on mat. leave? I met loads while I was pregnant/on leave.

Possibly a subject conference would let you advertise, although it might not be worth it if delegates are from a wide area (unless it's online tutoring).

twentyten Thu 06-Feb-14 22:15:29

A friend uses the tutor pages

complexnumber Fri 07-Feb-14 15:26:34

What subject and age range?

I may be returning to the UK in the next year or so. I would be looking to supplement my income with tutoring.