Talk

Advanced search

Any language teachers in the Staffroom?

(17 Posts)
Loonytoonie Wed 03-Oct-12 18:24:27

I'm a fairly new language teacher, trying her very best to teach a language that not many kids are interested in (it's compulsory in this school) in a city centre Comp. I love this language - it's a part of my heritage and I thought that teaching it would be a vocation for me. But I'm struggling.

Is teaching languages different from teaching other subjects? I spend so much time up-front teaching and 'talking' - so that the kids get to actually hear it in its spoken form. My Head now says that as teachers, we should do less talking, and letting the kids get on with it, but it doesn't seem possible with my subject. Or am I just doing things all wrong? <glum>

slipslider Thu 04-Oct-12 18:37:06

Can you not use talking tins? Microphones etc? We use them in primary to record verbal things for assessments or use talking tins for questions - for example in reception we have activities and we record something like - Can you find the correct number for the amount of (for example) conkers? The child would then press this to access the learning...you could have a few around the classroom asking them to maybe record things such as (if u r doing the town/shops/directions etc) their route throughout the town going past the bank, swimming pool and the library. The child would hear the spoken buildings and they would then have to write the directions by following a town map. Lots of ideas they could use for these - they could record the order of months of the year, then play it back as a mini plenary - have they managed to do this? then the other children hear not just you talking but others. Then you could discuss pronunciation etc as a feedback. Hope this waffling helps!

Loonytoonie Thu 04-Oct-12 19:50:56