Talk

Advanced search

English and history teachers can I have your opinions please?

(6 Posts)
Thewidewideworld Wed 03-Oct-12 16:10:46

Name changed for this as the site I'm going to link to has my rl name on it and I don't want to out myself on my regular name, but I am a longtime Mumsnetter.
I'm an English teacher with a big interest in YA fiction and I've put together a little website mainly for English teachers but which may also be of interest for teenagers and their parents. I've just put version one online and thought it would be good to get comments from teachers about what they would like to see in a site like this.
My plan is to build up some more content over the next few weeks and then upgrade the website - hopefullly I will add some extra features including a message forum. If I can get a bit of feedback before then I can make sure I am adding the right stuff. I really just want to make it a useful resource for busy classroom teachers who don't have time to read all the new YA literature themselves or scour the web looking for good author blogs or websites. If they can point pupils at it as a place where they can find out what they might like to read next that would be great. It might also be useful for parents who want to encourage their teens to read but don't know what to suggest. Will also post this on the children's books forum.
Anyway here it is the widewideworld

cricketballs Wed 03-Oct-12 17:00:20

I am not English/History so can not comment on the content, but the home page font colour is very hard to read and can look quite 'fuzzy'. the darker blue you use on the other pages is a lot easier to read. You can also 'turn' people off by having too much text so you may want to edit the introduction.

Whilst I may have sounded over critical I do applaud your enthusiasm and dedication and hope you continue to keep the website growing!

Thewidewideworld Wed 03-Oct-12 17:05:58