Talk

Advanced search

An opinion please fellow teachers...

(23 Posts)
MaryBerryisVeryMerry Sat 22-Sep-12 05:53:37

I'm a primary teacher and have name changed for this one.

Is it acceptable or not to describe a KS2 child to their parent as 'gobby'?

Today, my own dd's teacher called me in about her behaviour blush - she is in year 5.
This is the first time ever that any teacher has had to speak to me about her behaviour, so this isn't long standing problem. Apparently she hasn't been trying and her attitude 'sucks'.
Needless to say dh and I are appalled and have come down on dd like a tonne of bricks. Dd is devastated, has written a letter of apology to her teacher and cried herself to sleep.
But I am irked, 'gobby' is such a horrible term. Of course I know some children are just awful and you would like to tell parents really what you think of them but you moderate your language. 'He's a nasty little bully who makes life miserable for his classmates = his behaviour is quite challenging' wink

I do know my mum hackles are up. Initially I was so shocked to hear about dd's behaviour I didn't say anything but now on reflection I am seething!

So, 'gobby' to describe a 9yr old, yes or no?

nameuschangeus Sat 22-Sep-12 05:57:14

IMO the teacher has a crap turn of phrase. 'Gobby' and 'sucks' - is she 15 years old?

My guess is she's a younger teacher who could do with a quiet word about the terminology she uses. I could quite understand that the behaviour she's describing is unacceptable but I would be irked at her use of words.

MaryBerryisVeryMerry Sat 22-Sep-12 06:12:58

Lol she is not 'young' - she is, I'd guess, 40 ish? This is her 3rd year of teaching I think.

Btw I'm not in any way excusing dd's behaviour - she has had an absolute roasting about it at home.

MatchsticksForMyEyes Sat 22-Sep-12 06:33:32

No, I wouldn't have been happy with that. I've never used phrases like that to describe anyone I've taught.

changeforthebetter Sat 22-Sep-12 06:45:55