Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Rescue cats

(21 Posts)
cluelessclara Sun 09-Jul-17 12:22:56

I have no experience of owning a cat but I'd like to get one for my daughter who will be 2 in the autumn. I'd prefer to get a rescue. How likely is it to get a rescue kitten? I don't know anything about the process or indeed how difficult it actually is to own a kitten / cat.

What do I need to know?

ExplodedCloud Sun 09-Jul-17 12:32:37

Personally I wouldnt get a cat for a 2 year old. We had geriatric cats when my dc were born. When the cats died, I waited until my youngest was 5 before we rescued some kittens.
Any good rescue place will do a home visit to check. Do you live somewhere quiet with a garden or in a flat?
Cats are pretty easy to live with although kittens will be a bit nuts for the first year. They need feeding, watering, a litter tray, vaccinations, neutering etc.

Allergictoironing Sun 09-Jul-17 14:53:43

Very young children and kittens don't really mix - at that sort of age it's hard to prevent the child from being a bit rough with any animals which can lead to terrified kitten, scratched/bitten child or even severely injured kitten (they are very delicate creatures). Most good rescues won't adopt out kittens to homes with very young children for good reason, plus kittens are normally adopted out in twos.

If you are determined to get a cat soon, best to talk to a reputable rescue and discuss whether they have an older cat that is used to children.

Wolfiefan Sun 09-Jul-17 14:57:31

Don't get a cat for a child who isn't even 2. WTF?! Cats can live for over 20 years. They need worming and flea treatment and vaccinations as well as feeding and litter tray cleaning out. A toddler can't do that! confused
Get her a soft toy.
If you want a cat don't get a kitten. Small children can kill them or be scratched and bitten.

DumbledoresApprentice Sun 09-Jul-17 15:11:18