Talk

Advanced search

post spay!

(49 Posts)
TooAswellAlso Tue 16-Feb-16 17:56:45

I am such a complete novice when it comes to cats :-(

Girl cat was spayed today. We picked her up about 3pm. She'd had nothing to eat since 550 last night. And still doesn't want anything (cone doesn't help, but we offered from a spoon and she's not wanting)

I don't think she's drunk much either - though did notice she had wet in the carrier on way home so I've cleaned that up.

They're not normally allowe din my room (boy cat was done last summer) but I'm thinking of setting her up with food and litter up there on her own tonight as she's still drowsy, to keep her away from her brother.

What do I need to look out for? When do I worry about food and drink?

She's got a follow up Friday afternoon. I feel terribly guilty for putting her through this now, although I know deep down its better than kittens.

Fluffycloudland77 Tue 16-Feb-16 18:52:27

See how she is in the morning, she needs to sleep off the GA. It's always a worrying time.

TooAswellAlso Tue 16-Feb-16 18:53:34

Ah ok, so it won't hurt her not eating until tomorrow? Boy cat is being fairly good and she's managing to stay away from him so far bless her

thecatneuterer Tue 16-Feb-16 18:56:28

It's probably the cone. if she hasn't eaten by the morning I would take the cone off for a bit and offer her food then.

Fluffycloudland77 Tue 16-Feb-16 18:56:40

No, she might not eat everyday in the wild.

TooAswellAlso Tue 16-Feb-16 19:00:25

We took the cone off for food with boy cat when he was done. I'm waiting until the kids are in bed and it's calmer to try, I think noisy children and tv etc isn't helping

I feel so guilty when I look at her big eyes!

thecatneuterer Tue 16-Feb-16 19:04:24