Talk

Advanced search

Kittens still not here - ringworm

(15 Posts)
ShutUpLegs Thu 10-Dec-15 08:09:21

The Rescue people called at the weekend to say that Boykitten has suspected ringworm and they are going to treat both him and his sister for a week before delivering them to us. Apparantly the treatment is for one week on/one week off for three cycles - and they will have had the first cycle by the time they arrive.

I have NO experience of ringworm. I guess we just keep them in the kitchen, keeping mopping everything and washing bedding and watch the kids like a hawk, enforcing lots of hand-washing.

Anything else I should factor in?

Lonecatwithkitten Thu 10-Dec-15 13:16:29

You should factor in that ringworm can be really difficult to treat in cats. If take the cat you need a commitment from the rescue that they will cover all the treatment costs.
Personally I would take the kitten till it has had a negative culture.

ShutUpLegs Thu 10-Dec-15 20:58:22

Yikes. I suspect that it is being underplayed. I need to ask whether it has been formally diagnosed by a vet. ANd whether their vet will continue to monitor the treatment.

Wolfiefan Thu 10-Dec-15 21:01:07

Do you have a vet you can get advice from?
FYI I got ringworm off an animal. It is very contagious.

Changeychanger Thu 10-Dec-15 21:18:27

Ooh, I had a rescue cat that they neglected to tell me had ringworm. It cost me hundreds in vets bills as it kept flaring up and each time I caught it. Had to return him in end as I had a newborn and all the bleaching and laundry as well as treatments got too much.

RustyBear Thu 10-Dec-15 21:29:17

I'm currently watching a livestream from a rescue foster in Canada, with feral 4 kittens of various ages with ringworm - the livestream is here - you can see how they cover up every time interact with the cats
livestream.com/tinykittens/bells
(They are very cute, especially the littlest who was almost starving when she was trapped)