Talk

Advanced search

Cat attempts own version of a Tennessee Williams play.

(7 Posts)
MrsDanverclone Sun 09-Oct-11 12:52:18

Cat on a hot metal wood burning stove!

My cat, who is nearly 6 months old, jumped on to the top of our wood burning stove last night. He has rather pink paws this morning but no blisters and appears to be fine.

This is my first time being the very smitten owner of a cat, as I actually really belong to that other species, known as dog owners.
So what I want to know, from you more experienced cat owners is, if you think he will have learnt from the experience straightaway, as this was the first time we have had the stove on, since we got him. He does appear to be of a superior intelligence to my 2 dogs, one of whom regularly toasts herself on the hearth, trying to get as close to the stove as possible, until the whiff of scorched fur drifts my way and I get up and move her.
Or, do I need to buy a fireguard, as the flickering flames and heat source will lure him in everytime?

GoodWitchHunting Mon 10-Oct-11 19:43:26

I think Cats have a better track record of learning dangers. My mums dog as no fur at the end of his tail come winter because he just won't learn not to go too close to the fire!

MrsDanverclone Tue 11-Oct-11 10:10:28

He appears to have learnt to be wary of the stove thankfully.
Sat on the sofa glaring at it last night. My dogs are supposedly an intelligent breed, Border Collies, but like your mum's dog, no sense around the fire and yes, we have had the singed fur on tail here as well.

RedwingWinter Wed 12-Oct-11 19:51:42

I had to read this thread because of the title. Cats like warm places so he will probably still try and get close, but remember not to get burnt. Cats are quick learners about things like that. I'm glad to hear he is now wary of the stove. You can keep an eye on him and then if you are worried, you can buy a fireguard.

tabulahrasa Thu 13-Oct-11 22:30:35