AirBNB Dog Vent

(5 Posts)
fairydustandpixies Mon 14-Oct-19 13:13:20

Just wanted to vent!

I've never used AirBNB before but I travel for work sometimes and my dog comes with me. We usually stay in a Travelodge but thought I'd look at AirBNB for a change. Found one that says it accepts pets and I messaged them to make sure that dogs are allowed. Had a message back saying yes but what breed of dog as they have a young daughter, said a Staffie Cross, gave some background on him and that his only unpredictable trait is with cats and he's amazing with kids.

Got a terse message back saying that Staffies are the one breed they will not allow around their daughter and that they have three cats.

No mention of cats on their listing!

I am highly allergic to cats and have an asthma attack severe enough to require hospitalisation within 30 minutes if I'm in a house with one cat, let alone three. That's even after taking anti histamines and having inahlers and relievers.

Okay about not liking Staffies, fair enough (I do know of a friend who had to have their Shih Zhu put down because it bit a child but hey...), but why would you not mention the CATS????

It's a common and severe allergy - why on earth would they not mention that on their listing??

Has anyone else had any luck or problems with AirBNB with a dog or have any recommendations? Or other hotel chains to look for? I'm on a budget so can't afford £££s!

OP’s posts: |
Catapultaway Mon 14-Oct-19 13:49:02

If it's that severe and I was staying at a place that accepted pets I probably would have asked if they had cats, or other people staying who had cats.

Actually, I'd probably ask anyway even if it didn't mention pets.

fivedogstofeed Mon 14-Oct-19 14:01:56

That's a really stupid thing not to mention.
Plenty of people have cat allergies or simply don't like cats.
I wouldn't want any cat haters staying in my house!

DamonSalvatoresDinner Mon 14-Oct-19 14:09:35