Talk

Advanced search

Anyone have a dog who has had/recovered from canine meningitis

(6 Posts)
serendippity Fri 19-Jul-19 23:30:51

Hi all, we have an 8 month old cockerpoo (Yes I know taboo in the world of mumsnet but still) she was very, very I'll last month and diagnosed with meningitis (eventually) and it is a looooong road to recovery, around 6 months on steroids. She is so much better, but not an 8 month puppy still. She doesn't play, won't cuddle with us and, although obviously better and not seriously ill any more, still is a different dog than before treatment.
Vets are wonderful, but I'm keen to hear from owners, have you noticed changes in your dog during treatment? Did they bounce back during the reduction of steroids of after the treatment had finished?
I've spoken to alot of dog owners but no one else seems to have experienced this!
Thank you in advance smile

OP’s posts: |
BiteyShark Sat 20-Jul-19 06:31:15

Sorry I have no experience of this but did pick up the bit about the steroids.

My dog had behavioural changes when he was on a high dose of steroids for a different condition. Whilst we were warned about excessive drinking, feeding and peeing we were not prepared for the changes in him. He was hyper barking at nothing and just wouldn't settle. There were other changes that just meant he wasn't himself. Totally back to normal once we stopped them.

Another thing to consider is if she has had a lot of admissions and treatments that can affect them. My dog has been very depressed and not wanting us around him after admissions and yes it did change him permanently in that he is a much more fearful and timid dog since.

serendippity Sat 20-Jul-19 06:57:31

Thank you biteyshark,
Good point about being the admissions, it may well have affected her. She was in such a horrendous amount of pain the whole thing would have been traumatic for her.