Talk

Advanced search

Probable osteosarcoma

(11 Posts)
LadySybilPussPolham Wed 14-Feb-18 18:25:45

I found out this week that my 13 year old GSP almost certainly has a bone tumour in the femur of his back leg. From the radiology notes and my own research the prognosis looks pretty bleak. Does anyone have any experience of this? To put it bluntly, I don’t want to put him through lots of stressful procedures/amputation if it’s only going to add a few months to his life.
He was given painkillers and we are back at the vet on Friday. He’s struggling just to get out of bed and into the garden without falling over sad
He’s such a lovely old boy and it will be so hard to let go but this is clearly very serious

Bubble2bubble Wed 14-Feb-18 22:33:13

So sorry, no experience at all but bumping this for you.

Kurkku Thu 15-Feb-18 08:31:48

I have no direct experience of osteosarcoma, but knew two dogs diagnosed with it.
One was a bernese mountain dog owned by a good friend. The tumour was in his tail, which was amputated. Unfortunately, even though the cancer had not spread according to the vets, they found another tumour (in the femur as well iirc) the following year. The dog was put to sleep shortly after since the owner and the vet agreed that amputation was not in his best interests (large, heavy dog, with the added issue of not having the tail any longer). He was 5 years old.
The second one was my now 9 year old golden retriever's brother, also a tumour in the femur, but sadly in his case the cancer had spread and become untreatable. He was put to sleep at 6 years old.
Personally in your case, I would not put an elderly dog through aggressive treatment and a potentially long recovery/adjustment period for his sake.

imonaplane Thu 15-Feb-18 20:03:04