Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Where do we start??

(12 Posts)
Thisandthat2017 Sat 28-Oct-17 21:20:16

Hi all 😁 I'm new to this part of mn, I didn't even know a pet section existed! So first of all, helllllooooo all 😊

We, as a family of four (two adults, one 11yr old dd and a 10 year old ds) have been yearning for a dog in our lives.

After extensive research we have decided that a Tibetan terrier is the breed for us.

So what next???? How do we know where and who to buy from? I have seen adverts on preloved and pets4homes but is this who I should be buying from? What should I be looking for and what kind of questions should I be asking?

This is not a decision that we are taking lightly, nor should it be, and I want to be sure we are going about it the right way. So any helpful advice would be gratefully received. 😊

Thewolfsjustapuppy Sat 28-Oct-17 21:40:56

There must be a Tibetan Terrier association, the best place to start is with them. Personally I would joint their Facebook page and contact them that way. I was given advice to contact a breed association which I did but they never got back to me hmm so I joined several Facebook pages associated with the breed and lurked for ages. eventually I got a real feel for who knew their stuff and who didn't and 18 months later I now have two of the same breed, no thanks to the specific association at all.

Thisandthat2017 Sat 28-Oct-17 22:30:24

Funnily enough, that is exactly what I have just done - requested to join a few fb groups. One has just sent a pm to say that recommendations and advertisement of breeders is not allowed! The pictures are making me fall even more in love with the breed! It is lovely to look at the dogs having fun with their owners. It will probably be another 6 months before we get one ourselves but I want to be as prepared as possible. Thank you Thewolfsjustapuppy.

Thewolfsjustapuppy Sat 28-Oct-17 22:37:45